Thakur Panchanan Mahila Mahavidyalaya
Affiliated to Cooch Behar Panchanan Barma University

ESTD: 1981
Magazine Road (Near Rabindra Bhawan), Cooch Behar, 736101

Electoral Literacy Club

An Electoral Literacy Club is a platform to engage college students through interesting activities and hands- on experience to sensitise them on their electoral rights and familiarise them with the electoral process of registration and voting. Thus, Electoral Literacy Club (ELC), Thakur Panchanan Mahila Mahavidyalaya, was set up, in accordance with ECI guidelines.

Electoral literacy club aims at strengthening the culture of electoral participation among young and future voters.

  • Engage (actively) in promoting awareness of ‘Right to Vote’ among students, faculty members and community at large.
  • Enable critical thinking on issues related to elections, rights, duties and electoral system and its processes.
  • To identify students of the 18 plus age-group who have not registered for inclusion of their names in the electoral rolls, and encourage and assist them, in the process of voter registration.
  • To develop a culture of popular participation and maximize the informed and fair voting and follow the principle 'Every vote counts' and 'No Voter to be Left Behind'.
The club will have all regular students as its members.

ELC may be named as per the name of the institution and will be set up and coordinated by the Nodal Officers. Therefore, the ELC of Thakur Panchanan Mahila Mahavidyalaya has been coordinated by two Nodal Officers, who are the teachers of the Political Science department and three other teachers shall also act as Mentors of the ELC.

The Nodal Officers shall focus on:
  • Promoting and supervising Club enrolment.
  • Supervising the election and formation of the Executive Committee of ELC.
  • Coordinating between the District Election Officer and the ELC for exchange of resources, information etc.
  • Attempt generating new resources and forward the same to the District Election Officer.
  • Guiding and supervising the development of the calendar of activities for the year by the Executive Council.
  • Organizing the Club enrolment.
  • Planning activities for the ELC and framing further guidelines for smooth conduct of ELC activities.
  • Supervising the conduct of activities as per the calendar and as such.
Executive Committee:
The club would be run by a selected body from amongst the ELC member students with nominated representatives from each of the disciplines of the College. The committee members can only be students who are already enrolled as voters. Amartya Ray, Assistant Professor, Department of Political Science would be acting as Nodal Officer. Dr. Mousumi Dey Sarkar would be acting as the Mentor of the ELC of Thakur Panchanan mahila Mahavidyalaya. The students nominated are representatives of each discipline. The Executive Committee, under the guidance, consultation and supervision of the Nodal Officer will be responsible for organizing the activities of the ELC.

Name Designation Department
Amartya Ray Assistant Professor Political Science
Elora Sarkar SACT Political Science
Name Designation Department
Dr. Mousumi De Sarker Assistant Professor Political Science
Srabani Paul SACT Political Science
Biswanath Roy SACT Political Science
Name Designation Department
Priti Mallik 2nd Sem Political Science
Karpita Barman 4th Sem Political Science
Tapashree Chakraborty 6th Sem Political Science
Sudhya Yasmin 2nd Sem English
Nijhum Adhikary 4th Sem English
Sagarika Barman 6th Sem English
Nandini Roy 2nd Sem History
Amrita Paul 4th Sem History
Priyasha Paul 6th Sem History
Paramita Deb 2nd Sem Bengali
Jui Dhar 4th Sem Bengali
Anamica Debnath 6th Sem Bengali
Banasree Banik 2nd Sem Geography
Hrishika Das 4th Sem Geography
Sheshatri Ganguly 6th Sem Geography
Barnali Paul 2nd Sem Education
Ananya Chakrabarty 4th Sem Education
Papiya Nandi 6th Sem Education
Puja Bokshi 2nd Sem Philosophy
Tanuska Barman 4th Sem Philosophy
Nayantara Das 6th Sem Philosophy
Sneha Das 2nd Sem Sanskrit
Sonai Dey 4th Sem Sanskrit
Shreya Nandi 6th Sem Sanskrit
Piu Dey Sarkar 6th Sem Programme
Rikta Goswami 4th Sem NSS
Sanjita Mohanta 6th Sem NCC

Contact Details

Magazine Road,
Cooch Behar, West Bengal, India,
Pin- 736 101.

Ph. (03582) 222695 (O), Mobile : 6295861623

E-mail : /

©Copyright 2022 Thakur Panchanan Mahila Mahavidyalaya | Developed by : Aidni Infotech PVT LTD